Happy Halloween

O­ne obvious question about Halloween is, “What does the word itself mean?

The name is actually a shortened version of “All Hallows’ Eve,” the eve of All Hallows’ Day. “Hallow” is an Old English word for “holy person,” and All Hallows’ Day is simply another name for All Saints’ Day, the day Catholics commemorate all the saints. At some point, people began referring to All Hallows’ Eve as “Hallowe’en” and then simply “Halloween.”

Halloween to most of us means candy, costumes and trick-or- treating. For New Yorkers it means one of the biggest parades of the year – hundreds of thousands of people congregate in Greenwich Village in elaborate costumes. You can even see it on national television.  We made it festive by celebrating the scariest costumes, ghost, monsters and other creepy creatures.

I remember Halloween, as a kid, going through the neighborhood door to door getting candy and other treats.  Every kid had a very scary costume.  As I grew older, I wanted to still be a part of Halloween, but on a different scale.

One year, in Gadsden Alabama, I dressed up as a scary scarecrow and sat outside on my porch very still until I saw kids walking up my walkway.  Some kids were already scared to walk up and see a full size scarecrow in the chair.  As the kids got closer, I would ‘jump scare’ them,  making them scream in horrific style.  OHHHH, those were the days.

I might…..and that’s a strong might, do something similar to that here in Vegas.  Not sure if I would or not, but if I do, I will record there reactions when kids come by to Trick-or-Treat.

More importantly, kids stay safe and travel in numbers.  Check your goodies before you eat them and always remember all candy isn’t good candy.

Happy Halloween

 

jpitts+pumpkin

What are you comments about JPittsProductions?

